Backup Your Website

Doing a search on this blog for articles on backup, I found only five! I cannot think of another topic, aside from blogging and SEO, that I’ve covered more thoroughly. Thing is, all of my articles on backup have mostly to do with backing up your computer – your photos and documents are the invaluable data that you keep on these infernal machines. You can replace a computer on a whim, but if you don’t have a good backup of your personal stuff, you may suffer the pain of loss that comes with a computer or hard drive crash.

Enough about that and onto the subject at hand…. I did a backup of my website a few months ago, early in 2013. How fortunate for me, since my primary website – rouzell.com was hacked and malicious code was injected into many of the pages on that hosted website. For me, the solution was easy. Grab the copy of my backup, FTP it to a new hosting service, add a few updates (there were several, but they were also easy to find in backup copies of individual pages) and then, with just a little bit of DNS redirect magic, my website was up and running again on Bluehost.com – my current favorite hosting service.

It occurs to me that this (backup, that is) is something I do almost without thinking about it. But now that I’ve had this experience, I will be devoting a bit more of my attention to being diligent with my efforts to preserve my web pages. There must be hundreds of pages by now, if we count each of the blog entries I’ve produced, so there is a volume of work to be preserved through this effort.

I hope you appreciate my sharing these somewhat painful details with you. But if you do have a website, find a way to back up your content. Filezilla is what I used (mindlessly), but I’m sure there are better, even automatic, methods for doing routine backup tasks. Search it out and send email with your results. I’ll be happy to post progress reports.


Palm Desert SEO is the search term I hope you will use to find my service.


Looking for Palm Desert Computer Repair, Rouzell Enterprises, Inc. has what you need. Diligently working toward becoming your Palm Desert SEO Expert; Rouzell Enterprises is a Palm Desert based company providing compassionate care to people who use computers. This includes computer repair and computer support, also computer training and network support, and social media training and support. If you have any need for SEO, or help with computers, networks, or social media, one call to Brian Rouley at Rouzell Enterprises is all it takes to get the help you need. Rouzell Enterprises is your Palm Desert SEO Expert.


Are you looking for the Best SEO in Palm Desert? If so, click that link and come on over to Mousehelp @ Rouzell.

Leave a Reply

